Easy Peasy Cheesy Chipotle Rice

This recipe is something I came across a while ago, and honestly have made about 3 times already.  This is my rendition of Cheesy Chipotle Chicken and Rice.  I love this recipe because it is another one of those One Pot Wonders!!!

IMG_7744

It does require some prep work — as your chicken needs to be cooked prior so you can shred it.  So I have often made this when I have had spare chicken from another recipe that I have baked in the oven with salt, pepper and garlic powder.

In a large pot (which seems ridiculous at first but you later realize it needs to be big to fit EVERYTHING), combine rice, chicken broth, 1T butter and spices.  I don’t think I have ever made this with actual chipotle spice which the recipe calls for, instead I use chili powder.  This is for two reasons: 1) I don’t have chipotle spice and 2) we are wimps when it comes to spice.

IMG_7745

Let this simmer for a while, until the rice is almost cooked and there is little liquid (about 10-15 mins).  This is a good time to shred your chicken, as that seems to take FOREVER! Next add in beans, chicken, corn, onions, garlic, peppers and butter.

IMG_7746

Stir this around for a while until the onions have cooked.  I found almost every time I have made this that I need to add in more chicken stock here b/c the recipe starts to dry out as I am stirring.  I add about 1/4 – 1/2C more broth.  Stir in your cheese and mix well.

IMG_7747

And you are done!  It is that simple.  I like to top mine with a dollop of sour cream and cilantro.

IMG_7748

It might not look pretty — but damn is it delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

