Blueberries & Oatmeal Make a Mean Muffin

I had some blueberries leftover in the fridge that I desperately wanted to use before they went bad, so I searched a healthy sweets recipe on Pinterest.  After pinning about 4 different blueberry recipes, I settled on making Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins as I figured they were kind of breakfast-y.

IMG_7698

Now I’m not going to lie, the other reason I chose this recipe was its simplicity and the other ingredients.  I knew I had everything else I needed in the house, including the buttermilk which was leftover from recipes of last week.

Step one, mix oatmeal and buttermilk together and set aside.  I can only assume this adds to the fluffiness of the muffins later – but pretty easy step!

IMG_7699

Next as with almost all baking recipes, mix dry ingredients together in a bowl.  Then, in separate bowl, mix egg and sugar, then add milk/oat mixture. Top off with mixing in your melted coconut oil and finally add the dry to wet.

IMG_7700     IMG_7701

Pour in the blueberries and fold until evenly distributed.  I used a 1/4C measure to easily scoop my batter into the muffin tray, and I came out with exactly 12 even muffins (this doesn’t happen very often!!!).  Throw them in the oven and in 20 mins I pulled them out to be baked to perfection.

IMG_7705

Golden brown on the tops, and yet moist throughout.  I found these had the perfect amount of blueberries, pretty much one (or more) in every bite!  They didn’t last long as my husband took them for breakfast, and I ate a few too 😉

One thought on “Blueberries & Oatmeal Make a Mean Muffin

Leave a Reply

