Stuffed to the Sole

I wanted to make a fish meal this week, but was looking for something that wouldn’t be too time consuming.  (Can you see a theme to this week — pressed for time).  I looked through my fridge and then compared with fish recipes on Pinterest and finally settled on Stuffed Sole.

IMG_7552

There is a bit of prep work required for this recipe, but I was able to do a bit of it while doing other thing.  I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen, so I had to steam it before I could use it.  But I also had to make rice, so I did both at the same time and both were done by the time I had everything else ready to go.

IMG_7555

While that was cooking I mixed together melted butter, lemon juice and salt & pepper.  Then when rice and broccoli were cooked I added to butter mixture and mixed in cheese.

IMG_7557     IMG_7558

I was careful to choose pieces of sole that had large, even ends where I could pack the stuffing.

IMG_7559

The toughest part of this recipe is rolling the sole up while keeping all the goods packed inside.  I have always found sole to be a finicky fish that easily breaks apart, so rolling it while stuffing it was not an easy task.

IMG_7560

I managed fairly well — but I also threw away a lot of broccoli/rice mixture that fell out onto the cutting board.  Once all my sole filets were stuffed, I placed them seam down in a glass baking pan, poured a lemon butter mixture over top and baked for 25 mins.

IMG_7565

They are done when slightly browned and flaky.  Top with paprika and serve with rice/ quinoa.  Delicious.  I was amazed at how good they were.  A fairly easy hit for this house.

IMG_7569

One thought on “Stuffed to the Sole

Leave a Reply

