Slow Cooker Kind Of Day

As we were getting the furnace replaced today, I felt that a slow cooker meal was in order.  So late this morning I pulled out the slow cooker, and got all my ingredients out to make Spinach & Artichoke Chicken.

IMG_7490

Although I’ve never used artichokes before, I love me some spinach and artichoke dip, so this sounded appealing.  This recipe is a 2 part slow cooker recipe.  First, I threw chicken, garlic, chicken stock and the artichokes in the slow cooker for 4ish hours.

IMG_7491

After about 3 hours a delicious smell started wafting through the house, I couldn’t wait to taste it.  Before I threw in the rest of the items, I had to pull the chicken apart.  I’m not sure whether it was because it stewed in the artichoke brine, or whether there was limited ingredients, but it pulled apart rather easily after 3 hours of cooking.  In my previous slow cooker post, I stressed leaving the chicken for 4-5 hours to easily pull, but not this one :).  In the last 15 mins of cooking (roughly), I threw in the rest of the ingredients and let it stew away.

IMG_7492

Man did it smell good when I opened the slow cooker 30 mins later …  I left it a little longer than I was supposed too but thats what a slow cooker is good for.  Finally add to your rice (or quinoa) and enjoy!

IMG_7496

I must say it was amazing!!!  My hubby wanted seconds, but refrained because he knew he needed to let it get to his belly!  This is definitely one to add to my favourites list.

Leave a Reply

