Gone to the dogs

So I periodically order my pups some special treats in the form of BarkBox, if you haven’t heard of it I highly recommend checking it out. BarkBox is a company based out of NY who put together boxes of puppy goodness, everything from popular toys to gluten free treats.  Their goal is to highlight Canadian and American small companies who focus on healthy, all natural treats … or products they highly recommend.  The reason I go on this tangent about such a wonderful company is because I often look at the treats that my pups receive in their boxes, and realize that I could probably make them.  The typical dog biscuit found in these boxes contain all natural, common ingredients.  So I thought I would give it a try.

Today I spent some time in the kitchen with my pups, making them homemade treats in the form of Pumpkin & Peanut Butter Biscuits. If you’re looking for treats to make for your own four legged friends, take a look at my Puppy Treats board on Pinterest.

I was quite impressed by how easy these biscuits were to make, and with only 5 ingredients.

IMG_7286

It is a pretty basic recipe, add to mixing bowl and blend together.  The original recipe suggest throwing everything into your stand mixer, but since I don’t own one of those I had to improvise.  I decided to try whipping it together with my hand mixer — it kind of worked, I just had to knead it together once it was thoroughly combined.  I highly recommend that if you have a stand mixer to use it, I’m sure it would have been a whole lot more convenient.

IMG_7288IMG_7290IMG_7293

Once it is kneaded together into a large ball, flour a flat surface and roll out into desired thickness.  Once again, I lack a rolling pin, so I used what I call the “poor mans rolling pin”.

IMG_7297

Then it is all about cutting.  I had purchased little dog cookie cutters to be cute, but I have seen all sorts of shapes and sizes.  The only thing I have to say about this recipe, is that the dough doesn’t re-work very well.  After I rolled and cut once, I found it hard to get the remaining dough to combine together again.  It was like it became layered dough, and wouldn’t mix or knead into one solid mass again. Either way, it didn’t really matter because I was able to make 8 large and 18 small biscuits. Pop them in the oven and 30 mins later … treats!!!

IMG_7298     IMG_7301

Now we all know that the best part of using a hand mixer is licking the beaters, but seeing as these were dog biscuits, I didn’t want to lick them.   So … why not let the dogs!!

IMG_7306     IMG_7302

The pups waited oh so patiently, at my feet, for the treats to cool. Then they finally got to taste, and in 1 gulp they were gone.  There were no remnants or crumbs anywhere, so I’d say they loved them.

IMG_7321

My sister-in-law was very curious about how they would taste, and since they are all natural, why not try them out.  Her final assessment, “Pretty good, all they need is to be toasted with some jam.” Thought I would put that in there just in case anyone else was wondering. 😉

IMG_7324

One thought on “Gone to the dogs

Leave a Reply

